Xalud has assembled a world class Scientific Advisory Board.

Linda Watkins, PhD: Co-Chair

Dr. Watkins is a University of Colorado Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience at the University of Colorado Boulder. A co-founder of Xalud, she is a world-renown leader in glia research and the neurological applications of glial attenuation, with a focus on alleviation of chronic pain. She is the recipient of the highest award for distinguished basic science research from the American Pain Society, the 2010 John Liebeskind Pain Management Research Award from the American Academy of Pain Management and the 2010 Prince of Asturias prize for scientific and technical research. She has over 300 peer-reviewed publications including articles in Nature, Science, Nature Neuroscience, and Journal of Neuroscience. She is the thought leader behind XT-150, having received over $2 million in NIH grants supporting six generations of IL-10 gene therapy research culminating in XT-150.

John Forsayeth, PhD: Co-Chair

Dr. Forsayeth, a co-founder of Xalud, is an expert in gene therapy technologies and translational research. He currently is a Professor of Neurosurgery at UCSF and was formerly Director of Neurobiology at Avigen, Inc. He has also held senior research positions at Neurex and Elan Pharmaceuticals. He has been a principal investigator or co-investigator on NIH-supported gene therapy grants, and is a co-author of over 60 peer-reviewed papers and book chapters. He has been a key collaborator with the Watkins laboratory in the development of IL-10 gene therapy since 2003.


Scientific Advisory Board

Charles S. Cleeland, PhD

Dr. Cleeland is the McCullough Professor of Cancer Research, Professor of Medicine (in Pain and Symptom Management) and Chairman of the Department of Symptom Research, Division of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas.

Ronald Dubner, DDS, PhD

Dr. Dubner was the Chief of the Neurobiology and Anesthesiology Branch of the National Institute of Dental Research (1973-1995) before becoming professor and chairman of the department of biomedical sciences of the University of Maryland Dental School.

Gerald F. Gebhart, PhD

Dr. Gebhart is the President of the International Association for the Study of Pain (2008-2010) and a past President of the American Pain Society (1997-1998). He serves as the Director of the University of Pittsburgh Center for Pain Research and Professor in the Departments of Anesthesiology, Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Medicine/GI at the University of Pittsburgh.

Daniel P. Lammertse, MD

Dr. Lammerste is the Medical Director of Research at Craig Spinal Cord Injury and Rehabilitation Hospital in Englewood, CO and Associate Clinical Professor at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

Jon D. Levine, MD, PhD

Dr. Levine is Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in the School of Dentistry and Professor in the Departments of Medicine, Anatomy and Physiological Nursing at the University of California, San Francisco.

Larry Steinman, MD

Dr. Steinman is a Professor of Neurology and Neurological Sciences at Stanford University and chair of the Stanford University Program in Immunology. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences.